Read an Excerpt
Buy the Book

The Sunday Wife:
A Novel

By Cassandra King

Read Bio
ISBN 10: 0786890444
400 pages
$14.00US/$20.00CAN
SUBJECTS:


Request a Book Club Chat

A Vibrant New Voice from the Heart of the South.

In the tradition of Patricia Gaffney’s Saving Graces — a captivating novel about one woman’s journey toward independence and the life-changing friendship that guides her there.

Married for 20 years to the Reverend Benjamin Lynch, a handsome, ambitious minister of the prestigious Methodist church, Dean Lynch has never quite adjusted her temperament to the demands of the role of a Sunday wife. When her husband is assigned to a larger and more demanding community in the Florida panhandle, Dean becomes fast friends with Augusta Holderfield, a woman whose good looks and extravagant habits immediately entrance her. As their friendship evolves, Augusta challenges Dean to break free from her traditional role as the preacher’s wife. Just as Dean is questioning everything she has always valued, a tragedy occurs, providing the catalyst for change in ways she never could have imagined.

Reviews

“[King] creates compelling, sympathetic characters.” —Birmingham News

“Shines without turning into a sermon.” —Florida International Magazine

“Rich, dense and satisfying.” —People Magazine

“A tasty and irresistible treat.” —Bookpage

“Fans of Patricia Gaffney and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings will enjoy this extremely well-written book.” —Library Journal

“King . . . captures the redolence of the South and the trickiness of Bible-best society in an impressive debut.” —Booklist

“A charming read . . . [King] has a sure winner here.” —Publishers Weekly

“A wonderful book. Cassandra King catches these quirky, complex people and their world flawlessly.” –Anne River Siddons

“A dazzling tale of deception, heartbreak and transcendence . . . sparkles with vitality and truth.” –Connie May Fowler

“A stunner, a page-turner of a story that’s at the same time smart and funny and alert to the nuances of the complicated South. Dean Lynch in the title role will absolutely steal your heart.” –Josephine Humphreys

“An enticing novel . . . from page one, the reader will be rooting for the liberation of the courageous and talented wife, Dean, from her repressive husband.” –Sena Jeter Naslund

Excerpt

Chapter One

I ended up at Grayton Beach because I came to Crystal Springs first. It was three years ago, the first Wednesday in June, that Ben and I moved to the town of Crystal Springs, across the state of Florida from the Jacksonville area whe

You Might Also Like...

Sign Up!

If you would like to learn more, please enter your e-mail below to receive news alerts, event info or other promotions.

Buy the Book

The Sunday Wife:
A Novel